It’s a girl! (A musical surprise)

When I do random scrolls through YouTube, I find things I’ve been mistaken about for … let’s see … I was born in the ’50s … this came out in the mid-’60s … it’s 2012 … carry the 1 … yeah, pretty much all my life.

Like this song.

It was released in 1965, and until yesterday, I didn’t know that the lead singer was a woman. Her name is Beverly Bivens. The band is We Five and the song is “You Were on My Mind.”

Oh, and it’s a great song! But how was I to know it wasn’t an all-guy group?? It was the ’60s. We had to go through a British invasion and a Motown beat and Jersey Boys and the San Francisco sound and Dylan going electric and, tell me again, who was the Walrus?

It was all so confusing.

And they kept saying things like “You can’t tell the boys from the girls.” Plus, we didn’t have MTV! We didn’t know what anybody looked like. Stick a photo of most of the bands of the ’60s in front of me, and I couldn’t tell you who they were. But play three seconds of a song and I can tell you what it is and who sang it.

But I loved this song. I feel like an idiot.

2 thoughts on “It’s a girl! (A musical surprise)

  1. Pingback: Gale and Wayne and Brenda | Brobrubel's Blog

  2. You’re no idiot. That ballsy female soprano-alto was a really, really new thing in pop. Wounds to Bind, a memoir by We Five’s Jerry Burgan just announced by Rowman & Littlefield, deals in depth with Beverly’s breakthrough style, how she warped the space-time-sex continuum in the early days of folk rock, and her 40-year reclusion. https://rowman.com/ISBN/9780810888616 If you’re so moved, spread the word!

Leave a comment